Print

Water Quality

Cover Image

Since the day of its foundation in the year 1990, the International Commission for the Protection of the Elbe River (ICPER) has been committed to promoting the retrieval of drinking water via river bank infiltration and enabling the agriculture to utilise the water and the sediments.

Water quality of the Elbe River and its tributaries

At the end of the 1980ies, the Elbe River was one of the most polluted rivers in Europe. By now we can see a markedly positive development of the water quality of the Elbe River and its tributaries. 

The oxygen concentration in the Elbe has increased, whereas the average concentrations of heavy metals in water as well as the concentrations of organic substances and nutrients have gone down considerably. The number of fish species has increased considerably, the salmon has returned to the Elbe tributaries and the passability of the Elbe for migratory fish has also improved significantly.

The water quality analysis in the Elbe River basin on the basis of an international coordinated monitoring programme had already been initiated at the beginning of the 1990ies. This was the cornerstone for the complex and coordinated monitoring of the water quality of the Elbe and its tributaries.

In order to implement a joint monitoring programme, a water quality monitoring network was established and an information network in the Elbe River basin was set up. Comparability is an important requisite for the joint interpretation of the monitored values. This is guaranteed by quality assurance measures on an international level within the ICPER framework.

More related articles

Druck

Gewässergüte

Cover Image

Schon seit der Gründung im Jahr 1990 setzt sich die Internationale Kommission zum Schutz der Elbe (IKSE) dafür ein, die Gewässernutzungen im Einzugsgebiet der Elbe, vor allem die Gewinnung von Trinkwasser aus Uferfiltrat und die landwirtschaftliche Verwendung des Wassers und der Sedimente, zu ermöglichen.

Gewässergüte der Elbe und ihrer Nebenflüsse

Die Elbe gehörte Ende der 80er Jahre des 20. Jahrhunderts zu den am stärksten belasteten Flüssen in Europa. Jetzt lässt sich eine deutlich positive Entwicklung der Gewässerbeschaffenheit der Elbe und ihrer Nebenflüsse nachweisen.

In der Elbe erhöhten sich die Sauerstoffkonzentrationen; die mittleren Konzentrationen der Schwermetalle im Wasser sowie die Konzentrationen der organischen Stoffe und der Nährstoffe sind stark zurückgegangen. Die Anzahl der Fischarten stieg beträchtlich, in die Nebenflüsse der Elbe ist der Lachs zurückgekehrt und die Durchgängigkeit der Elbe für Wanderfische verbesserte sich ebenfalls wesentlich.

Die Untersuchung der Wasserbeschaffenheit im Einzugsgebiet der Elbe auf der Grundlage eines international abgestimmten Messprogramms begann bereits Anfang der 1990er Jahre. Damit wurde der Grundstein für die komplexe und abgestimmte Betrachtung der Entwicklung der Wasserbeschaffenheit der Elbe und ihrer Nebenflüsse gelegt.

Um ein gemeinsames Messprogramm realisieren zu können, wurde ein Wassergütemessnetz aufgebaut und ein Informationsnetz im Einzugsgebiet der Elbe eingerichtet. Eine wichtige Voraussetzung für die gemeinsame Interpretation der gemessenen Werte ist ihre Vergleichbarkeit. Dafür sorgen Maßnahmen zur Qualitätssicherung auf internationaler Ebene im Rahmen der IKSE.

Weitere Artikel zum Thema