Print

The Elbe

The fourth largest river basin in Central and Western Europe

The Elbe has the fourth largest river basin in Central and Western Europe after the Danube, Vistula and Rhine basins and is inhabited by about 25 million people. More than 99% of the river basin is located in Germany and the Czech Republic, with less than 1% in Austria and Poland.

Average annual precipitation for the 1961 – 1990

From its source in the Giant Mountains to its mouth in the North Sea, the Elbe River can be divided into three sections (Upper, Middle and Lower Elbe).

The largest tributaries of the Elbe are the Vltava, the Saale and the Havel rivers which occupy more than 51% of the river basins.

The Elbe River basin belongs to the temperate climate zone and is located in the transition zone from maritime to continental climate. The continental influence manifests itself by relatively low precipitation levels and large differences between summer and winter temperatures. This is the case for the largest part of the Elbe River basin, whereas precipitation levels rise the higher you get into the low mountain ranges. The Lower Elbe section is characterized by a more balanced temperature profile and relatively high precipitation levels in comparison with other lowland areas, which are typical of a maritime climate.

The annual average air temperatures are 8 - 9°C in the lowlands and 1 - 3°C at the summits of the low mountain ranges. The absolute extreme values of the river basin were measured in its southern part with a rather continental climate at +40.4°C in Dobřichovice near Prague on 20 August 2012 and at -42.2°C in Litvinovice near Česke Budějovice (Upper Vltava river basin) on 11 February 1929. But also the maritime climate of the northern Elbe region has experienced extreme temperatures ranging from +39.2°C, measured in Lübben (Spree river basin) on 09 August 1992, to -28,9°C, measured in Gardelegen (Aland river basin) on 24 February 1956.

The average annual precipitation levels range from 1,700 mm at the ridges of the Giant Mountains and the Jizera Mountains as well as in the Upper Harz Mountains and 450 mm in areas located in the rain shadow of the low mountain ranges. The average annual precipitation level of the complete Elbe River basin is 628 mm. However, the map shows significant differences in the individual regions. For about one third of the Elbe River basins the precipitation level is below 550 mm. These are mainly parts of the Vltava, Ohře, Saale and Havel river basins. Particularly low precipitation is recorded in areas located in the rain shadow of the low mountain ranges during cyclonic westerly and northwesterly weather situations. As a result, the Lower Saale region with an average of approx. 430 - 450 mm per year, the Žatec basin in the Ohře region and the Thuringian Basin in the Unstrut region with 450 mm per year are the driest areas. By contrast, annual precipitation of more than 1,000 mm is only to be found at the higher elevations of the lower mountain ranges.

Topographical map

The highest daily precipitation in the Elbe River basin amounting to 345 mm was recorded in Nová Louka in the Jizera Mountains on 29 July 1897. The 312 mm of rainfall measured in Zinnwald-Georgenfeld in the eastern part of the Ore Mountains on 12 August 2002 has been the highest precipitation in one day in Germany since the start of regular measurements.

The rain-snow-type runoff regime is characteristic for this transition climate. Part of the winter precipitation is snow, which normally melts in the lower mountain ranges only in spring and which in the long-term average results in a runoff maximum in the months of March and April. Floods are often caused by regional heavy precipitation in summer, such as in the event of the floods in August 2002 and in June 2013. The lower mountain ranges only occupy a small part of the Elbe River basins. Only 2% of the Elbe region is located at altitudes of more than 800 m above sea level, more than half of the river basin is at altitudes of up to 200 m above sea level. Due to these conditions, there is a significant runoff decrease in the summer months as - in contrast to the Alpine waters - the snow and the mountain glaciers do not continue to melt in these months. The lowest runoff is usually registered in September and October.

The multi-year average runoff of the Elbe River at the mouth to the sea is 861 m3/s. With reference to the Neu Darchau gauge, which represents 89% of the complete Elbe region, the average annual runoff rate amounts to 5.4 l/s/km2. Thus the Elbe region is one of the European river areas with the lowest runoff rates. This fact is reflected in the large number of dams in the Elbe River basin. There are 312 dams with a reservoir volume of more than 0.3 million m³, 175 are located in Germany and 137 in the Czech Republic. They comprise a total reservoir volume of approx. 4.12 billion m³.

According to the data analysed within the framework of the CORINE Land Cover project in 2006, 42.8% of the area in the Elbe River basin is used as agricultural land. Forests cover 30.6%, among them is 21.9% coniferous and 8.7% deciduous and mixed forest.

Druck

Die Elbe

Das viertgrößte Einzugsgebiet in Mittel- und Westeuropa

In Mittel- und Westeuropa verfügt die Elbe nach Donau, Weichsel und Rhein über das viertgrößte Einzugsgebiet, in dem fast 25 Millionen Einwohner leben. Mehr als 99 % des Einzugsgebiets befinden sich in Deutschland und der Tschechischen Republik, weniger als 1 % in Österreich und Polen.

Mittlere jährliche Niederschlagshöhen (1961-1990)

Von der Quelle im Riesengebirge bis zur Mündung in die Nordsee wird die Elbe in drei Abschnitte unterteilt (Obere, Mittlere und Untere Elbe).

Die größten Nebenflüsse der Elbe sind Moldau, Saale und Havel mit über 51 % des Einzugsgebiets.

Das Einzugsgebiet der Elbe gehört zur gemäßigten Klimazone und liegt im Übergangsbereich vom mehr maritim zum mehr kontinental geprägten Klima. Kontinentaler Einfluss kommt in verhältnismäßig geringen Niederschlagshöhen und großen Temperaturunterschieden zwischen Winter und Sommer zum Ausdruck. Das trifft für den größten Teil des Elbeeinzugsgebiets zu, wobei mit ansteigender Geländehöhe in den Mittelgebirgen die Niederschlagshöhen zunehmen. Ein mehr ausgeglichener Temperaturverlauf und für das Tiefland relativ große Niederschlagshöhen – Merkmale maritimen Klimas – kennzeichnen den Bereich der Unteren Elbe.

Die Lufttemperatur beträgt im Jahresmittel im Flachland 8 bis 9 °C und in den Gipfellagen der Mittelgebirge 1 bis 3 °C. Die absoluten Extremwerte des gesamten Stromgebiets wurden in seinem südlichen Teil, der mehr kontinental geprägt ist, mit +40,4 °C am 20.08.2012 in Dobřichovice bei Prag und mit -42,2 °C am 11.02.1929 in Litvinovice bei Česke Budějovice (Einzugsgebiet der oberen Moldau) gemessen. Aber auch das maritimere Klima des nördlichen Elbegebiets kennt extreme Temperaturen: Die Spannweite reicht von +39,2 °C, registriert am 09.08.1992 in Lübben (Einzugsgebiet der Spree), bis -28,9 °C, verzeichnet am 24.02.1956 in Gardelegen (Einzugsgebiet des Alands).

Die mittleren jährlichen Niederschlagshöhen betragen zwischen 1 700 mm in den Kammlagen von Riesen- und Isergebirge sowie im Oberharz und um 450 mm in Gebieten, die im Regenschatten von Mittelgebirgen liegen. Die mittlere jährliche Niederschlagshöhe für das gesamte Elbegebiet beträgt durchschnittlich 628 mm. Wie die Abbildung zeigt, ist die Niederschlagshöhe in den einzelnen Regionen aber sehr unterschiedlich. Auf etwa einem Drittel des Einzugsgebiets der Elbe beträgt sie unter 550 mm. Das betrifft vor allem Teile der Einzugsgebiete von Moldau, Eger, Saale und Havel. Besonders wenig Niederschlag fällt in solchen Bereichen, die bei zyklonalen West- und Nordwestwetterlagen im Regenschatten von Mittelgebirgen liegen. Deshalb sind das Gebiet der unteren Saale mit durchschnittlich 430 bis 450 mm pro Jahr sowie das Saazer Becken im Egergebiet und das Thüringer Becken im Unstrutgebiet mit 450 mm pro Jahr am niederschlagärmsten. Im Gegensatz dazu sind mehr als 1 000 mm Jahresniederschlag auf die Hochlagen der Mittelgebirge beschränkt.

Topografische Karte

Der größte Tagesniederschlag im Einzugsgebiet der Elbe wurde am 29.07.1897 mit 345 mm in Nová Louka im Isergebirge registriert. Die am 12.08.2002 gemessenen 312 mm Regen in Zinnwald-Georgenfeld im Osterzgebirge sind der höchste Tagesniederschlag in Deutschland seit Beginn der regelmäßigen Messungen.

Charakteristisch für dieses Übergangsklima ist das Abflussregime des Regen-Schnee-Typs. Ein Teil der Winterniederschläge fällt als Schnee, der in den Mittelgebirgen meist erst im Frühjahr abtaut und im langjährigen Durchschnitt allgemein zum Abflussmaximum in den Monaten März und April führt. Hochwasser werden jedoch häufig auch durch regionale Starkniederschläge im Sommer verursacht, wie z. B. bei den Hochwassern im August 2002 und im Juni 2013. Die Mittelgebirge nehmen nur einen kleinen Teil des Einzugsgebiets der Elbe ein. Lediglich 2 % des Elbegebiets erreichen Höhen über 800 m ü. NN, mehr als die Hälfte des Einzugsgebiets weist hingegen Geländehöhen bis 200 m ü. NN auf. Wegen dieser Bedingungen tritt in den Sommermonaten ein deutlicher Rückgang der Abflüsse ein, der durch das Schmelzen des Schnees und der Gebirgsgletscher nicht weiter gestützt wird, wie z. B. bei alpinen Gewässern. Die geringsten Abflüsse werden meistens im September und Oktober erreicht.

Der langjährige mittlere Abfluss der Elbe an der Seegrenze beträgt 861 m3/s. Bezogen auf den Pegel Neu Darchau, der 89 % des gesamten Elbegebiets repräsentiert, beträgt die mittlere jährliche Abflussspende 5,4 l/s ・km2. Damit ist das Elbegebiet eines der abflussärmsten großen Flussgebiete in Europa. Diese Tatsache spiegelt sich in der hohen Anzahl an Talsperren im Einzugsgebiet der Elbe wider. Von den 312 Talsperren mit einem Stauraum ab 0,3 Mio. m³ befinden sich 175 in Deutschland und 137 in der Tschechischen Republik. Sie verfügen über einen Stauraum von insgesamt ca. 4,12 Mrd. m³.

Im Einzugsgebiet der Elbe werden gemäß der im Projekt CORINE Land Cover von 2006 analysierten Daten 42,8 % der Fläche als Ackerland genutzt. Mit Wald sind 30,6 % der Fläche bedeckt, dabei entfallen 21,9 % auf Nadel- sowie 8,7 % auf Laub- und Mischwälder.

Weitere Artikel zum Thema